TAG Heuer – Where Is Your Quality Control

Not quite two years ago, I created this post where I proudly announced the arrival of a long awaited addition to my watch obsession … a TAG Heuer Aquaracer Automatic. This was a beautiful watch and one I was really proud to own.

Less than a month after I received this gorgeous gift, it was in the shop for a service as it had started gaining time … 7 minutes a day!

Now, for those of you who know about watches, an automatic is one where the mechanism is powered by the movement of your body. A kinetic mechanism transfers the movement of a little counterweight into stored spring energy. This spring can be a little temperamental and is susceptible to magnetic forces so watchmakers take cares to ensure that the spring doesn’t get magnetised easily. Also, automatics have a tendency to be slightly less accurate than a quartz with maybe +/- a minute a month being a reasonable variation.

Unfortunately, either I generate a stronger magnetic field than most or I got a dodgy model because over the following 20 months (except for a 11 month period between Sep 08 and Aug 09), the watch has been returned to the service centres of both Wallace Bishop and TAG Heuer no less than 8 times for the same time gaining problem – settling on a 2 minute a day gain. Each time, the reasoning was that the mechanism was becoming magnetised – which after the first two times started to wear a little thin. Even after TAG completely replaced the movement, it still suffered the same problem … could the stainless steel case have become magnetised? Who knows?

I take care of my watches. I understand better than the average person (due to my obsession) how automatics work and the challenges they face. I was gifted an automatic watch winding case to ensure that it was always wound and protected from both magnetic fields and the elements. So, to tell me it was continuously becoming magnetised without a good reason tested my patience … but I never lost it as I was sure things would work out eventually. After all, this was a TAG that we are talking about here!

Push came to shove last week when I picked the watch back up (again) on the 8th May. I carefully placed it as far from anything in the house that could cause a problem (even left it out of its case) and placed my Seiko Sportura (that has been my consistent time measure)within viewing distance, set the Aquaracer to the exact time as the Seiko and ‘watched’ both. Without fail, over the next 3 days, the TAG started to gain time – this time only a moderate minute a day … but it was still a significant gain.

I was crestfallen – the Aquaracer had to go.

Now, many of you would probably say that I have been a push-over and that it should’ve been rectified ages ago … and you may be right. But, and I must state this, the guys at Wallace Bishop Garden City have been excellent and were always quite accommodating. There was nothing to be gained from getting cranky … and I was never sure that it wasn’t something I was doing. But no-one could explain what was going wrong.

Anyhoo, after a phone call to Wallace Bishop, the manager (who has been consistently helpful – thank you Jamie) contacted the State TAG rep and a decision was made to exchange the watch for a brand new TAG of equivalent value … but it had to be a quartz movement … I just had to come in and select it. I thought this was a very reasonable outcome and one I hoped would close this unfortunate experience and I could re-establish my love of the brand.

So, off I toddle to the store on Saturday, make a difficult decision to stick with the value and not add an additional $200 to get a nicer model and find the watch I would like to wear. A new (apparently only out 3 months) Aquaracer Chronograph with Date that has a quartz movement. So there I am, aglow with the type of vibe that a new watch wearing person gets when they put a lovely timepiece on their wrist.

Getting it home, the first thing I do is to reset the date and chronograph hands … that were slightly out of whack (not unusual) … after reading the manual of course. However, trouble was afoot – despite my best efforts and instructional guides, the chronograph hands just would not re-set. So I ring the store, pop in to see the guys and establish that it wasn’t me, the watch is not well.

Less than 2 hours into owning the new timepieces, it is already on its way into the Service Centre. I would have taken the option for a replacement … but they didn’t have one in stock and in the time it would take to get one in (about the same time for a service) I couldn’t guarantee that the replacement would also not be stuffed.

So I ask you, am I just the unluckiest TAG owner … or has TAG sacrificed its quality control on lower end models to provide the resources for their highly acclaimed, highly expensive top-end pieces?

Would I recommend a TAG? Right now, no! But the weight of experience and good reviews seems to point to my trials and tribulations being the exception rather than the rule.

I have sent en email to TAG Australia and hope that sometime soon, there will be light at the end of the TAG tunnel. Sufficed to say, if I do get the chance to head into the stratospheric levels of the watch world, IWC, Breitling, Oris and Omega will be on my list … way ahead of the similar TAG’s. though, I must say, the TAG Grand Carrera is a very tasty bit of kit.

9 Comments

Filed under Ventings

9 responses to “TAG Heuer – Where Is Your Quality Control

  1. Hiya

    Brilliant article. How did this get resolved? I’m looking at a couple of Grand Carrera’s (probably the most beautiful watches I’ve ever seen) or an Omega 45.5mm Planet Ocean Chrono (9300 movement, black with orange numbers) and I’m concerned over issues with Tags.

    You are the 3rd person who’s mentioned issues with Tags, including guys in the local jewellers and an owner of a Calibre 16 Carrera and they’ve mentioned issues of quality.

    The Planet ocean now has a 4 year warranty and 10 year service intervals so they are obviously sure of the quality of the piece, but I don’t think it’s as impressive looking or anything as the Grand Carrera RS Calibre 17 or 36…

    Help!

    • In the end, I think it was an environmental issue. As noted, TAG very generously moved me off the Automatic and onto a new Chronograph and apart from one instance with the Chrono (where I thought it was going to start doing the same thing) it has been operating perfectly.
      There must have been something that I would go near to cause this issue, but no-one could ever explain it. I think that as long as you have a good rapport with your vendor, and are purchasing the higher quality movement that would be in Grand Carrera, you will love it. I still love my Aquaracer, and when I grow up plan to look at one of the higher end TAGs.

      • Do you still think it’d be better than the new planet ocean chrono?

      • Ooh – tough choice … but I would probably go the Planet – only cause I want an Omega next. Both are great watches with excellent reputation but the Planet is a little more ‘in-your-face’ than the Grand Carrera … and I like that.

      • In your face how? The Grand Carrera caliber 36 Caliper RS is proper in your face isn’t it?

      • I think the Omega stands out more from a distance … but once you get close, the Calibre has far more detail. Of course, if you go the Full Orange Seamaster … well, there is not much more ‘in your face’ than that 🙂

      • That is very true, but I just can’t bring myself to spend £5,100 GBP on a bright orange watch lol

  2. I will never get tag again. I bought it for years ago and has been disaster from the beginning. It would get condensation non stop. Send it twice to the service and they wanted to charge me 250 dollars every time even though it was still under warranty. I gave up on sending to tag heuer authorized service because you have send it and bla bla. I went to local watch repairman. 2 times watch had to be cleaned and repaired and dry out. Now I am in Europe and the screw came out. Totally fell out. Gone now I have been to watch repairmen 3 times here. Never never again. One of the repairmen told me that 20 years ago the watches were solid but now total junk. It’s hit or miss. TOTAL JUNK

    • That’s a sad story – and hopefully a rarity. The Aquaracer I ended up with has been working like a trooper, no issues and no problems.
      It may be worth contacting TAG directly as this does seem quite unusual.

Leave a comment